Road to RN Part 5

Finally! This road is nearing the end of the schooling journey and it is so surreal! As I wrapped up my final semester of nursing school, I now get to decide exactly who I am going to be as a nurse. This semester reminded me of how blessed I am to have been in a place that makes saying goodbye so difficult. This semester, I was initiated into Sigma Theta Tau which is the International Nursing Honor Society. This honor is awarded to the top 35% of the class based off of GPA. After the struggles of last semester, I didn’t give myself enough credit on being able to receive this honor.

Sigma Theta Tau Initiation

This semester was packed full of clinical experiences and practice NCLEX questions. As my classmates and I began accepting our dream jobs, each day led us closer and closer to beginning our career as nurses. I precepted in Labor and Delivery and I had the most amazing experience. To be completely honest, I was afraid that being a new graduate nurse, I wouldn’t get the opportunity to work in Labor and Delivery. As I was applying and interviewing for jobs, I began to feel defeated. There were a few places that were very open about the fact that they do not hire new graduate nurses into Labor and Delivery. I interviewed at one location and I was TERRIFIED because I wanted to work in Labor and Delivery so bad! After interviewing, I realized that I wasn’t interested in that specific hospital’s unit and felt very confused. Prior to interviewing there, I had applied for another hospital’s L&D unit! The day after that interview, I received an email to schedule an interview with the other hospital! I was so excited! After my interview, I was told to expect to hear back in about a week. Six days passed and I was getting ready to take graduation pictures when I texted my roommate that I was upset and felt like I wasted my practicum time because I felt like there was no way I would get a job in L&D. Twenty minutes after I sent that text, I got a call where I was informed that A JOB OFFER WAS BEING EXTENDED TO ME! I was so overwhelmed with joy! I accepted that job and am currently waiting on my temporary license to begin working at my dream job!

This semester I was able to work more around my schedule than I was able to last semester. With working and all of the requirements fifth semester has, I was able to make a 3.91 GPA, which is the highest GPA I have made in a semester of college. Unfortunately, my 1 credit hour course is the class that I made a B in. All of my other classes I was able to excel in and make A’s! I finished out my college career with a 3.51 GPA and graduated Cum Laude! I was class president of my nursing class and enjoyed our pinning ceremony tremendously!

Now, we wait for my temporary license and study for the NCLEX to get my real license! SO much life is happening right now and it is so exciting but so scary! Here’s to the end of one chapter and the beginning of another! Stay tuned for my next post about my entire college career! It’s quite long because it has been quite the experience!!!

Author: Lauren Terrell

Just a girl who has a huge heart for serving God & people and is crushing Nursing School :))

Leave a comment